Lymphoma is a group of blood cancers that originates from cells of the lymph system. As the broad distribution range of lymph system, lymphoma can start almost anywhere through the body. The two main categories of lymphomas are Hodgkin lymphoma (accounts for 10% ) and non-Hodgkin lymphoma (NHL accounts for about 90% ). Although both of these two types can occur at any age, lymphoma is most commonly diagnosed in young people. Hodgkin lymphoma can be classified into many subtypes, however, most cases are usually classic type of abnormal B lymphocyte, called Reed-Sternberg cells. Hodgkin lymphoma are usually treatable. NHL also has different types depending on the white blood cells types they arise from, such as B-cells, T-cells and NK cells. Scientists have identified certain risk factors which may be related to the development of lymphoma, such as age, sex, location, infection Immune deficiency etc. Although there’re some common ones, the signs and symptoms of lymphoma vary between different types. Thus the treatment and the out come may depend on the grade and the type of this disease.

In 2008, WHO classified lymphoma into 5 subtypes (NHL are classifed into 4 subtypes):

Hodgkin lymphomas

Mature B cell neoplasms

Mature T cell and natural killer (NK) cell neoplasms

Precursor lymphoid neoplasms

All services and products are only for lab research use, not for any clinical diagnosis or treatment.

Key Updates

Receive our latest news and insights.